Atha- To begin Yoga

August 13, 2010

The very first Sutra of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra’s. “Atha yoga anusasanum” Now the inquiry of yoga.

What does Atha mean to me?

Atha traditionally means a’ blessing at the beginning of an undertaking’, but essentially he is telling us that you must be present and that this requires my full commitment-attention. I love that I have already been blessed to do this. Atha marks the official and auspisious opening of my worthy journey into becoming a true student of yoga. To begin yoga. Atha implies a readiness, a commitment to embrace yoga as a whole with literally every cell in the body. A readiness?? Man, that has been the thing that has held me back for the past few years of taking a training course. I didn’t feel ready at all. I hope I am ready now. Everything about this so far has been very fluid and, not easy, but smooth.

Atha to me is a sacred self-honoring commitment towards whole body awareness and wellness. Atha reminds me of how much I love yoga and how precious it is to me in my life. Its almost like a vow in a way to myself. It makes me feel like I am in for an adventure and have no idea whats in store.Yoga, union…commitment, devotion…sounds like a marriage!
The other meaning is ‘being in the moment, in the now’.  I am still working on this. I have a hard time getting out of my head sometimes which I hope will improve during this training. I notice that when I incorporate breathing into an asana flow, I can become the most focused, but I feel like I have ADHD all the time..even right now.

Leave a Reply

