Sanskrit

August 8, 2010

I just found a neat website that translates commonly used Sanskrit words and phrases. I really enjoy seeing the actual text since it is so beautiful, and I thought since we are to learn the true asana names this might be a fun tool to possibly go deeper.

Two words that I felt drawn to were anuraaga अनुराग which translates to love, devotion, passion, devotion and loyalty. And the other was ‘muktiमुक्ति which translates to freedom, liberation and release. I have been thinking about getting a tattoo of a meaningful Sanskrit word or prayer around an ankle, so this was perfect if I ever actually do that.

Leave a Reply

